Brother

I heard a man crying,
A history of sorts
of all the blows he had absorbed
He counted out the cost.
You know what everybody says:
boys they shouldn’t cry
So, we grow up to be men
Burying it deep inside…but
I heard a man crying
And no matter how I tried
I could not look upon that face
I could not meet those eyes.
At night when I try to sleep
I hear his heart break again
I remember when we were boys,
and now we are only men.

  1. I love this.

    The title is intriguing because I’m not certain that the man crying and “brother” are one and the same. It struck me that it could be an internal man the poem speaks of either.

    Very emotional poem. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Cheers Jamhenry! Sometimes I am unsure about my poetry. I suppose all writers are unsure about their work.

  3. Keep it up Head; as usual, very emotive and well-written. Good stuff.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

